Is the inside as pretty as the outside?

halfface      Made Up Half       Not Made Up Half

So…. makeup. In our society, women wearing makeup has definitely become commonplace. And I say women loosely. I have already seen middle school girls and sometimes even elementary school children wearing makeup on a daily basis. The first time I noticed it, I was a little shocked. I did a double take at a 5th grader at the mall once. Haha, not awkward at all!

Well, “back in my day”… haha, just kidding. But in all seriousness, makeup didn’t become an everyday routine for me until about 11th grade, and even then, I only knew what eyeliner was. It wasn’t until college that I started to “put my face on” in the mornings.

Now at 21, I will honestly say that out of all my friends, I probably wear the most makeup. I won’t lie. Of course there are also days when I wake up late or I’m too lazy to put on makeup or I find it pointless if I’m going into a body of water, but I’m not ashamed to say that I wear makeup. It’s simply the truth.

Does this make me an uglier person? I hope not. But one of my guy friends once said, “Makeup can make a girl go from a 4 to an 8.” I appreciated his honesty when telling me this, but it kind of got me thinking, “Why do I even wear makeup?” Is it because I’m insecure about my looks? Do I want people to think that I’m pretty? Or maybe I like makeup and find it interesting how it can hide my flaws? The answer is probably all of the above.

But with that said, I hope that what I look like on the outside never holds precedence over my character. At least not when it really counts.

Just to feel the full effect of the picture above. Here are the sides separately (I’m not going to lie, I’m a little embarrassed):

makeuphalf                                                        nomakeuphalf

Makeup and fixing up my hair physically really made a difference, right? 

But does your character reflect your outer appearance, or does it surpass it?

Personally, I wouldn’t want my character to simply reflect my outer appearance. My outer appearance is using makeup as a tool to hide my acne scars and other imperfections, making me prettier than I actually am (or at least I hope it does, haha). But I wouldn’t want my character to be like that. I don’t want to be hiding my true self. I don’t want to try to make myself out to be a holier person than I actually am.

I just want to be me.

But does this mean I’ll stop wearing makeup? Ehhh, probably not. It’s definitely nice to be complemented once in a while, “You’re pretty.” Haha, though that just reminded me of one time when someone told me, “You’re actually pretty.” Hahaha, I was rendered almost speechless and just awkwardly said “Thank you?” with the question mark in my voice. Haha, oops.

Anyway, I digress. I hope that behind the makeup and hair, people will still see that I’m me. Me as in my personality, my character, and Christ in me. The picture above is a single shot of my face. Both sides are still me. One side is a physically enhanced version, but underneath all of that, my natural appearance is the same.

And I hope that even if I’m not pretty on the outside forever, I’ll always be pretty on the inside.

How about you?

One thought on “Is the inside as pretty as the outside?

  1. Pingback: Makeup of the Day: Gray Smoke show! | Beauty&Makeup

Leave a Reply

